Hopes and dreams can shape the future

Proverbs 13_12 Hope

GUEST POST: Elaine Lankford, Transforming Love Ministries

Listen to iPhone or iPad here. 

Yesterday, as I pondered what to pen in this post, I could not help thinking about all the things I am hopeful for. The past two years have been pretty exciting, and there have been many days filled with hope and promise. Much of it revolves around the dream the Lord has placed in my heart. I am thrilled by all the things that are falling into place, not just surrounding my writing and the start of a small ministry, but the future possibilities that are ahead of me as well.

However, the pressure of balancing work, home, and the call on my life has also been building. On top of everyday chores around the house, my current project list for work has become extremely heavy as we push to meet upcoming deadlines, and I am in full creative mode as I develop the manuscript for my second book. Oh… and there is that balancing act I do between caring for my mom who lives with us now and my husband and son. Did I mention my son is a high school senior this year?

Now, not for a moment do I believe the battle raging around the events competing for my time is some sudden coincidence. The devil is clearly putting up hurdles, thinking he will wear me out before I can cross the finish line. The true challenge before me is not time management, but to not lose hope!   

I pray that God, the source of hope, will fill you completely with joy and peace because you trust in him. Then you will overflow with confident hope through the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13 NLT

If I am focusing where I should be, with eyes firmly planted on Jesus, I should never be hopeless. Sure, there will be times of frustration, fatigue, and even a time or two when another hair will turn gray, but never a time void of hope. He is a never-ending well of refreshment to the soul who seeks Him.

One of my all-time favorite sections of Scripture is Lamentations 3:22-24. Many translations end verse 24 with “I will hope in Him.” Today, I want to give you a different view of these verses, as translated in The Message:

God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out,
    his merciful love couldn’t have dried up.
They’re created new every morning.
    How great your faithfulness!
I’m sticking with God (I say it over and over).
    He’s all I’ve got left.

I love the honesty in that version! “He’s all I’ve got left” (verse 24, MSG). Let me assure you, if Jesus is all you have left, you have plenty!

This week consider:

1. Have you placed your trust in the right source of hope?

2. Are you looking forward to the future and all that it holds for you?

3. Are you sticking with Him?

Life may not always go the way you want it to, but He will supply the hope you need for today and tomorrow!!

New Living Translation (NLT). Copyright© 1996, 2004, 2007, 2013 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

The Message (MSG). Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Elaine is an author, blogger, and speaker. Her first book, Love Echoed Back: I Cried Out; He Answered, is available through www.amazon.com and www.barnesandnoble.com.

Head shot 2

She is a long-standing member of Believers Church as well as an active small group leader, leading women-based groups for the last five years. It is her privilege to be a part of the Prayer Team and pray each week over those who seek intercession after the evening service. In addition, she has been a member and co-leader of the church’s Missions Team since 2010, traveling yearly to Puerto Cabezas, Nicaragua to support the work of the local church and orphanage there.

Professionally, Elaine has been in the nursing profession for over twenty years. She dedicated the first half of her nursing career to the field of Oncology and the second half to the area of Pain Management. In 2005, she became a certified family nurse practitioner. In the last several years, she has transitioned out of the clinical arena into a nonclinical advisory role in the area of medical record documentation, coding, and auditing.

Elaine was born and raised in Suffolk, Virginia and continues to reside there with Darrell, her husband of 23 years. They have one son, Nicholas, who is currently a senior in high school. They also enjoy the company of their ‘adopted’ grandson, Bradley.

It is Elaine’s greatest desire that everyone attain the kind of life Jesus has called us to and that they come to know the depths of the Savior’s love. If you cry out, He will answer!

Follow her on:        Website/blog:  www.elainelankford.com

2 thoughts on “Hopes and dreams can shape the future

  1. kristine March 14, 2016 / 6:25 am

    What an uplifting message Elaine, thank you!! (I love that version of the passage you shared. Awesome!)

    Like

  2. Deanna March 15, 2016 / 2:36 pm

    really enjoyed this!

    Like

Leave a comment